Quantcast
Note: LoLPortal is no longer being actively updated as I've joined Riot Games to work on their esports web initiatives. See this blog post for more information.

Back to Blog Posts

Weekend of 12/14/2012 - Your guide to this weekend's League of Legends action

Here's a primer of notable League of Legends action across the 3 regions for this weekend.

Korea

Olympus Champions Winter (Friday 12/14 - Saturday 12/15)

This weekend will feature the first set of matches in the tournament to be played on the latest pre-Season 3 patch! Should make for some exciting and entertaining games!

Group Stage Matches

  1. Group A: Azubu Frost vs Incredible Miracle (Friday at 2:30 AM PST | 5:30 AM EST | 11:30 AM CET | 7:30 PM KST) - An incredibly important match for both of these teams in the Group A rat-race for qualification. Frost is tied for 2nd in the group, while IM is currently 4th, behind by only 1 point. Will we see some more amazing Lee Sin play from IM's Ring Troll?

  2. Group B: Azubu Blaze vs MVP Blue (Friday at ~4:30 AM PST | ~7:30 AM EST | ~1:30 PM CET | ~9:30 PM KST) - A mismatch with Blaze being the heavy favorites, but Azubu will be looking to prove themselves after a disappointing couple of weeks.

  3. Group A: Najin Shield vs KT Rolster A (Saturday at 2:30 AM PST | 5:30 AM EST | 11:30 AM CET | 7:30 PM KST) - Another important Group A match. KT Rolster A is currently a whisker below qualification.

  4. Group B: GSG vs KT Rolster B (Saturday at ~4:30 AM PST | ~7:30 AM EST | ~1:30 PM CET | ~9:30 PM KST) - Another mismatch, but tune in if you want to see impeccable AD-carry play courtesy of KT Rolster B's rising star Score.

Official Website | Leaguepedia

Stream: OGN LoL | Twitch

Europe

IEM Cologne (Friday 12/14 - Sunday 12/16)

8 teams battle for a share of US$50000 in prize money in the last IEM event of the year. Fnatic look to extend their dominance over every team not named Team WE, while ex-Azubu's Reapered debuts his newly-formed SK T1 team. The tournament will be played on the season 2 patch. Here are the groups and the "Elo" ratings of each team according to the algorithm I use for my ratings list of pro teams.

Group A:

Group B:

Stream/Brackets/Schedule (Starts on Friday at 8 AM PST | 11 AM EST | 5 PM CET | 9 PM KST)

Leaguepedia

North America

Solomid Series Finals (Thursday 12/13 - Sunday 12/16)

4 of the top teams in North America fight for a US$12000 prize pool in the grand finals of the Solomid Series. TSM hope to continue their return to form after last weekend's Series win.

Stream/Brackets/Schedule Stream is Live! (Friday stream starts at 3:00 PM PST | 6:00 PM EST | Sat 12:00 AM CET | Sat 6:00 AM KST)

China

G-League 2012 Season 2 (Friday 12/14)

The quarterfinals are now set for the 6 remaining teams and a chance at a 270000 CNY prize pool (around US$43,000).

Quarterfinal match: OMG vs Team WE i-Rocks - Team WE's second team have finally started to string together a few wins in the last few days; they actually don't enter this match as much of an underdog as they have been used to.

Leaguepedia Info/Brackets

Stream (10:30 PM PST [Thur] | 1:30 AM EST | 7:30 AM CET | 3:30 PM KST)

Gunnar Invitational (Saturday 12/15 - Sunday 12/16)

The quarterfinals for Gunnar Optik's US$2890 prize pool tournament are scheduled for this weekend. Intra-squad matches are become more and more commonplace in China, with two in this quarterfinal. Royal Club looks to continue their hotstreak; tune in to see their superstar 15-year-old AD carry Uzi tear things up.

Quarterfinal Matches

  1. Royal Club vs Royal Club 2 - (Friday at 2:00 AM PST | 5:00 AM EST | 11:00 AM CET | 7:00 PM KST)

  2. LGD Gaming vs Wayi Spider (Friday at 2:00 AM PST | 5:00 AM EST | 11:00 AM CET | 7:00 PM KST)

  3. LoLadies vs OMG (Saturday at 2:00 AM PST | 5:00 AM EST | 11:00 AM CET | 7:00 PM KST)

  4. Invictus Gaming vs Invictus Gaming 2 (Saturday at 2:00 AM PST | 5:00 AM EST | 11:00 AM CET | 7:00 PM KST)

Leaguepedia Info/Brackets

Stream

comments powered by Disqus